

April 2020

C hurch
M usic
S ociety

Registered Charity No 290309

www.church-music.org.uk

## **Dear Friends**

This letter and its contents comes with the Chairman's personal good wishes to each and every one of you for your own good health and that of those dear to you, along with a hope that you and yours keep safe during these difficult times.

It is the Society's first communication since the passing in December of our distinguished Vice-President, Sir Stephen Cleobury CBE and we remembered particularly Stephen's family and friends in late November, and, perhaps most especially, at Christmas.

The Executive Committee and your Officers remain active, positive and planning for the future, as do the members of the Publications Sub-Committee – more details of their present constitution and endeavour appear later on.

The Society's most recent publication takes the form of an Easter Respond, John Taverner's *Dum transisset Sabbatum* newly edited by Sally Dunkley; this issue, ingenious in its lay-out to facilitate correct liturgical progressions along with an alternate *incipit*, together with Sweelinck's *Ab oriente venerunt magi* edited by Patrick Russill, comprise our first two publications emanating from the supervision of CMS newly-appointed General Editor, Dr Geoffrey Webber, who has very recently followed the distinguished and lengthy tenure of his predecessor, Richard Lyne.

Richard, along with long-serving Executive Committee member, Dr Alan Thurlow, has given well over thirty years committed and indefatigable service to the Society; each was elected a Vice-President of CMS at the 2019 Annual General Meeting. During the course of his long devotion to the work of the Society, Richard has, over many years, gathered around himself a team of like-minded and distinguished musicians and scholars – of whom Sally Dunkley and Geoffrey Webber are but two, and Peter Horton a third. All figure pre-eminently in the work of the Society going forward. Although the attendance at the AGM was by no means substantial in numerical terms, the appreciation showed to Richard particularly tells its own story and he, along with Patrick Russill, has been a significant element in the succession planning arrangements of the past few months.

It is a delight to be able to announce, as witnessed by *Dum transisset Sabbatum*, that Jackie Leigh has succeeded Jeanne Roberts as the originator of CMS music issues. Our gratitude to Jeanne for her devoted support over a very long period has been warmly expressed by the retiring General Editor. In preparation for publication currently are two hitherto unknown anthems by Walford Davies, an earlier pioneer of CMS life and work at the opening of the last century; these have been prepared for publication by Dr Peter Horton, one of our most regular editors and a former CMS Treasurer and will be forthcoming within the course of the next few months and certainly before the end of the year.

Dr Webber's appointment involves the re-constitution of the Publications Sub-Committee under his chairmanship and direction. Additional to ex-Officio members, the Society's Editor, Chairman and Immediate Past Chairman, Mr Timothy Byram-Wigfield, will be Dr Henry Parkes of the University of Nottingham and Ms Tansy Castledine of Peterborough Cathedral.

Honorary Secretary

Dr Simon Lindley 17 Fulneck Pudsey Leeds LS28 8NT

> 0113 255 6143 07980 873 070

lindleysimon @gmail.com The diligent care of our Treasurer, John Roch, has been particularly in evidence in recent months. Firstly, changes in the arrangements for subscription collection by direct debit were outsourced by our bank, and secondly, a change in our bankers – initiated by the Royal Bank of Scotland, not the Society – has involved a switch to Yorkshire Bank. Each of these developments has involved a huge amount of administrative work and we are especially grateful to John for all that he has undertaken. At this point, we send our congratulations to him on being awarded a special Certificate of Merit from the Guild of Musicians and Singers, and on his being a recipient of the 2020 Royal Maundy distribution from Her Majesty The Queen; it is a sadness that the present restrictions have conspired to make personal presentations impossible, but he is warmly to be congratulated on these nominations nonetheless.

During the course of the past half-year, we have welcomed most warmly a number of new members of the Executive Committee:

Mr Timothy Byram-Wigfield Immediate Past Chairman
Ms Tansy Castledine Peterborough Cathedral
Mr David Condry Kingston Parish Church
Mr Robert Gower Chairman, The Finzi Trust
The Reverend Canon Victoria Johnson Precentor, York Minster
Dr Christopher Ouvry-Johns Leicester Cathedral

We extend the warmest of welcomes to each and thank them for joining in the ongoing work of the Society. We also thank our Immediate Past Chairman, Mr Timothy Byram-Wigfield, who has hosted many of our meetings at All Saints, Margaret Street, and who remains a member of the Executive Committee, a Trustee of the Society, and its representative on the Ouseley Church Music Trust.

Additional to Mr Byram-Wigfield, our Trustees are Mr Patrick Russill (elected CMS Chairman at the 2019 Annual General Meeting) along with existing Executive Committee Members Mr Séan Farrell, Mr Michael Harris and Dr Peter Horton.

With all very best wishes to you and yours

Simon Lindley Honorary Secretary

lindleysimon@gmail.com 0113 255 6143 07980 873 070